Give Feedback Facility Charges

Facilities

Northumbria Sport is primarily based out of Sport Central, a £30 million state of the art sports facility, that offers students, staff and the general public access to facilities and services that are of the highest quality.

Click on the links below to find out more about the facilities we offer or to book on to group exercise classes or hire individual facilities, such as basketball courts. 


General Opening Hours

Every Day (including weekends): 07:00-22:00 

Bank Holiday and institutional closures

For the 2022/23 Academic year, Sport Central will be closed on the following days:

Bank Holidays:

Friday 7 April 2023 

Monday 10 April 2023 

Monday 1 May 2023 

Monday 29 May 2023 

Monday 28 August 2023 

Christmas Opening hours:

Sport Central

Friday 23 December 2022: CLOSED

Saturday 24 December 2022: CLOSED

Sunday 25 December 2022: CLOSED

Monday 26 December 2022: CLOSED

Tuesday 27 December 2022: 09:30 - 16:30 

Wednesday 28 December 2022: 09:30 - 16:30

Thursday 29 December 2022: 09:30 - 16:30 

Friday 30 December 2022: 09:30 - 16:30 

Saturday 31 December 2022: 09:30 - 16:30

Sunday 1 January 2023: CLOSED

Monday 2 January 2023: CLOSED

Tuesday 3 January: Open as normal from 07:00

Coach Lane Sports Grounds

Coach Lane will be closed from Friday 23 December 2022 - 3 January 2023


Book a Tour

To book a tour, please telephone Sport Central Reception on 0191 227 4700 or email northumbriasport@northumbria.ac.uk. Or view our Virtual Tour

AccessAble

Northumbria University has worked with AccessAble to make it easier to get around. AccessAble visited in-person to the Campus to create a Detailed Access Guide. Click the here to read the AccessAble Guide.