The Boxing club at Northumbria are a friendly and welcoming club catering for all abilities from absolute beginners right through to those who want to be on a competitive squad. The club are based out of the Lipman gym (on-site) where we facilitate all our martial arts and boxing sessions. The gym has a competition boxing ring and ample space for fitness and pad work.

The BUCS boxing event takes place once a year and those keen to enter can compete in competitive bouts in a quest to bring home a medal and BUCS points for the university. The club also hold an annual boxing show out of the students union with bouts taking place throughout the night with boxers from around the region.

On top of all the fun you’ll have training, competing and learning the amazing sport that is Boxing, you’ll enjoy a variety of social events organised by the club making it the perfect opportunity to play the sport you love while having a great time and making new friends.


Session: Boxing Mens 

Day: Thursday 30 September

Time: 17:00 - 18:00

Location: Sprint Track


Session: Boxing Mens 

Day: Thursday 30 September

Time: 18:00 - 19:00

Location: Sprint Track 


Session: Boxing Mens 

Day: Thursday 30 September

Time: 19:00 - 20:00

Location: Sprint Track 


Session: Boxing Mens 

Day: Saturday 2 October

Time: 14:00 - 15:30 

Location: Sport Central, Upper Hall


Session: Boxing Mens 

Day: Saturday 2 October

Time: 15:30 - 17:00 

Location: Sport Central, Upper Hall

 All sessions will be bookable via the NUSport App, which can be found on your App store or by clicking here. If you haven't already got an account with us you will need to create one before you can book onto sessions. This can be done by clicking 'Account' within the app or using this link and click 'Sign Up Now'. Follow the process and you will be sent a pin via your email which you can login to our app with. Any questions, come into our centre and our staff will help you, or send us a message using the messenger link or via our Instagram

Getting involved

Boxing is one of our ‘JUST JOIN’ clubs. The BUCS event takes place annually and is hosted by different universities each year. There are different weight categories and the ability for both male and female boxers to compete for a chance to bring home a medal.

For more information on getting involved please contact our Club President or Head Coach.

Club Costs

Boxing (Non-BUCS): £50 

Boxing (BUCS): £90

Boxing (Non-BUCS) will be available to purchase from 21 September. For those wanting to compete in competitions you should attend a trial session, should you be successful you will be given a BUCS card. You should take this to reception to purchase your Boxing (BUCS) membership.

Training Times & Venues

Competative - Thursday 17:00-18:30

Competative - Saturday 15:30-17:00


Men - Thursday 18:30 - 20:00

Men - Saturday 14:00-15:30


Women - Monday 17:00-18:30

Women - Sunday 10:00-11:30


Key Contacts

Head Coach: Mark Telford

Head Coach: Hannah Pearson

Club President: Libby McKinnon